Night Number Three

Went for a drive earlier tonight, thought I saw you three different times. I laughed when I realized it wasn’t. One in a red  Toyota sports car, one in a white Jeep, one in an old grey Ford pickup. I stopped at Arby’s on my way home. I ordered and pulled around to the window. I heard a voice behind me, I turned around. I saw his hair and a sliver of his face. Oh! Wait! No. Oh my God you have got to pull yourself together. Again, I laughed. The man had now pulled up behind me. I looked in the mirror, he smiled and nodded. I raised my hand. Stifled a giggle. Thought to myself, Dude, you wouldn’t smile and nod if you knew how crazy I am. I got my sandwich and left. At the stoplight I burst out laughing. I’m in sad shape. 

There’s nothing I do that you aren’t beside me. To say I’m preoccupied would be ridiculous. Just occupied. 
You are the tree to my shade, the corn to my candy, the watering to my mouth. 

I can’t breathe without you. Certainly finding it increasingly difficult to sleep without you. Seems like I can’t til I empty all of the thoughts outta my brain anyway. Don’t worry, love, my thoughts of you aren’t in my brain, those return to my heart. 

You’re in my heart. You’re in my soul. You’ll be my breath should I grow old. You are my lover, you’re my best friend. You’re in my soul. 

2 thoughts on “Night Number Three”

Leave a comment